About Hope

C. Hope Clark is a freelance writing expert, author of the Carolina Slade Mystery Series, the Edisto Island Mystery Series, and editor of FundsforWriters.com, a weekly newsletter service that reaches 40,000+ writers.


What They Are Saying

“In C. Hope Clark’s novel, TIDEWATER MURDER, Carolina Slade establishes herself as a new genre superstar, taking her place beside Dave Robicheux and Harry Bosch.”
–Carl T. Smith, Author of A Season For Killing and Lowcountry Boil

On MURDER ON EDISTO – “Replete with well-drawn characters, this is a read that won’t disappoint as Clark’s penchant for rapid-fire prose grabs you by the scruff of the neck and refuses to let go.” ~Dish Magazine

“A taut, high-tension page-turner—in a unique and fascinating setting. An absolute winner!”
–Hank Phillippi Ryan, Agatha, Anthony and Macavity winning author

The Carolina Slade Mystery Series

Lowcountry Bribe (Book one), Tidewater Murder (Two), and Palmetto Poison (Three) are part of the Carolina Slade Mystery Series by C. Hope Clark. Set in rural South Carolina, the series follows the adventures of Carolina Slade, a smart, focused, sometimes over-thinking woman who’s learned she’s more than a Federal bureaucrat. She likes justice, just her own way.

 The Edisto Island Mystery Series

Murder on Edisto debuted this series in September 2014. Set on historic, scenic, intriguing Edisto Island, one of the South Carolina sea islands, the Edisto Island books feature former detective Callie Jean Morgan. Dragging a tragic past with her, she relocates to her parents’ vacation home on Edisto Beach only to find that murder and mayhem happens in paradise, too. She had no plans to return to law enforcement, but for some reason, Edisto thinks that’s what she was sent to the shore to do.

learn more